I Should Be Dead

December 23, 2008.

My wife was almost a widow. If things had happened differently, she would have been. That was the night I had a heart attack. My main artery was 95% blocked. Now I know how the guy in the chest buster scene in Alien felt. But everything “just happened to happen” at the right time.

A fire truck with a portable EKG unit just happened to be in the area. As did an ambulance. And with everything lining up just so, I went from “Honey, I can’t take much more of this…” to stretched out on the table in the catheterization lab in 30 minutes.

The thing I had dreaded my entire adult life had happened, and I was going to survive.

The EMTs who came to the house were great and I thanked them as I got on the ambulance and again as they left me at the hospital. They saved my life. The doctor who had been having a late evening with family and friends arrived in a flash and walked me through the procedure as he worked on me. He saved my life…and I thank him every time I see him.

I made sure I thanked every nurse, doctor, and medical professional who did anything from draw blood to administer medication because they too had a hand in keeping my carcass on this planet for a while longer. And I made sure I didn’t miss anybody. I thanked them the minute they finished whatever they were doing.

I was grateful.

I still am.

It’s a shame I don’t thank God as profusely as I thanked those folks from December 23-25th because He saved my life too.

And without what He did…without His Son’s sacrifice, I would be just as dead both physically and spiritually with no hope of ever seeing Him face to face.

Does that describe you  too? I hope not. I hope I’m the only one, but I think that’s wishful thinking.

But I’m trying to do better.

Thank you God.

One comment on “I Should Be Dead

Leave a Reply

